Learn More

The Rio

(Off-Strip)

The Rio

Caesars Entertainment Corp.


The Palms 


Hotel / Casino Ratings & Reviews The Rio

3 Stars Anthony C November 09, 2014

I was staying at Rio because I was meeting some friends who were there for a convention. This would be my first time ever staying off strip. Although I have visited Rio many times and liked it, I was hesitate about staying because of the location. I had a lay flight on a Friday so I didn't get to the hotel until about 10:30 pm. The check in line was short and I only had about a 5 minute wait. I had booked just a standard room and I didn't even plan on trying the $20 trick because it was only a two day trip and I was fine with anything. But out of no place she offered me a free upgrade to a mini suite on the top floor of the old tower. I have no idea why but I took it. You needed the card key in the elevator to access the 20th floor of the old tower. When I got up you could tell that in its day this floor was the high rollers floor. It looked like it had its own check in desk ( or what looked like it) and its own lounge. But all of that looked like it was not in use any more. The room was great. Really high ceilings, huge windows, couch, little dressing area. You can tell it was due for a make over, but it was very clean. Overall I had a great experience, but I don't know if I would stay again unless I had to. They do offer a free shuttle to Ballys, and I took it once without any issues, but I still love just leaving my hotel and being on the Strip. But other then the location it was a great hotel.

3 Stars Scott B July 19, 2013

Stayed here on a Holliday weekend when the world poker stars were there. It's was a comped room. Based on previous reviews I was worried. But it was not that bad. Not near as jersey shore ghetto as I was expecting. Rooms were clean and the casino was clean. Draw backs were that there is not enough food and drink options here. Also. Outside of Asian games, there are not enough table games like blackjack and craps. The rio caters to the pai gow crowd. The pool was big and clean. Very refreshing on a 116 Las Vegas summer day. But a bucket of 5 cans of bud light were $30. Way too expensive. Unless it was a comp deal again. I would choose the Luxor over rio.

2 Stars Tom Fallrock April 19, 2013

Atmosphere is totally lacking at the Rio. Long check in, long check out. Casino is dated, rooms are dated even more. They have iPad drink service where the drink taker gets your order and tells you to stay at your machine. Well, not a big deal if they are back in a couple minutes, but 10-15 minutes if you want to move just a machine or two you won't get your drink! Was my first time at the Rio and I would not stay again.

3 Stars Jeremy e April 09, 2013

Definitely showing its age. Disappointed that they ended the show in the sky. However, we did receive a room upgrade and it looks like they are actually updating some of the rooms. If you don't mind off strip this a still a good value.

3 Stars Maggie August 04, 2012

Not bad for a place off the strip. Was there for a conference, you could tell most of the staff was unhappy we were there. I was told no for the first time in Vegas by the concierge. All I asked for (at 8am) was that the staff deliver a slice of chocolate cake to a room at midnight for my boyfriends birthday. She told me that they couldn't do that (uh, it's on your menu) but that there was a great bakery at the beliagio that I could pick a cake up from. Yeah. Non smoking rooms still smell like smoke but it's Vegas so it's expected. Rooms were large, no complaints there. There were a couple friendly staff members at the pool and serving drinks in the casino.

3 Stars Jerry Dice June 29, 2012

Although the Rio is off-strip, I was pleased with its proximity to dead-center strip with a very short cab ride. Rooms are very spacious and in decent shape...certainly not Wynn or Aria level as far as quality, but quite nice. Despite Caesars Entertainment's bad rap for this and that, the Total Rewards system makes it very easy to earn around the country and score the free room at places like Rio.

The casino is a good size, but their blackjack rules are pretty unfriendly (not unique to Caesars' LV properties). Craps tables are good, but dealers can be hit-and-miss. Will be back in October though - still a great deal for $0.

2 Stars Trevor April 27, 2012

Had the cheeseburger basket and the burger was as dry as a box of chalk and cost way too much!! Gave this place another shot and the service was poor at best! Bartenders more worried about tips than customers!

1 Star Derek W. April 20, 2012

This property was once great but is in sad shape now. The rooms are very worn out and the crowd that has taken over is right out of Boys in the Hood.

1 Star JS February 08, 2012

TRASHY!! We came to the Rio for the Penn and Teller show. The show was amazing but the review below was correct.....the Rio is the Vegas Jersey Shore. I recommend the show but have the car ready to go when it's over!

4 Stars Jeff January 28, 2012

Nice hotel. Rooms were huge and updated (except for prehistoric TVs). Enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

4 Stars Ygtgxi January 03, 2012

I stayed here in late October in one of their masquerade suites. It is nice and big and clean but dated. Nice big living room and bedroom . Living room had a tv and dining table and a washroom . Bathroom had a jacuzzi and vanity area. Casino was so so with older slot selection. Parking was a long walk . Very good staff overall. I still prefer the strip as it seems more busy overall but nice place to stay at

4 Stars Lisa October 31, 2011

I did not stay at rio but the show I did catch a show in the sky when I was gambling it was pretty good. It's a free show in the masquerade village on the weekends. After the show the bartenders do their own flair show and sometimes you even get free shots!

1 Star Katrina August 30, 2011

If you go outside during the evening there are cockroaches everywhere! No joke!

4 Stars Vegas Girl April 05, 2011

I actually thought this place was great. We normally stay at higher end places, but because i had free nights we chose to stay at the Rio. We were on the 37th floor. I have seen people complain about hearing the club, however, it was not that bad. You could hear a little of the bass, but that was it. The staff was extremely friendly and let us check in at 10am when we arrived. Dealers were all extremely friendly!! I would absolutely stay Here again. Now the Buffett reviews said the Carnival Buffet is the best, however, I would NOT go that far. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't the best.

1 Star Rob West April 01, 2011

This place used to be an excellent place to stay and to gamble. Not so anymore. Casino was patrolled by security that acted more like thugs and the drinks were watered down and total crap. The room was run down, dirty and very outdated. The staff was the rudest I've ever encountered in a LV hotel. It's time for this dump to be imploded and maybe the staff with it. Avoid this dump at all costs. The buffet was barely edible and the waitress completely ignored us. I couldn't wait to get out of this shithole and will never return. Well, actually I will, when they implode it so I can watch and cry tears of joy.

1 Star Tonysnyder March 06, 2011

This place has nothing but Jersey Shore whores & deuches . I hate this place. It's loud and not worth staying/playing. I've stayed at all the Caesars owned properties and this place is the worst. Stay on Strip and pay the same amt at Bally's.

1 Star Klaz February 15, 2011

Use to stay here about once a month. It use to be the best but slowly started going down hill. The last stay was so bad we actually left the hotel and went to the Venetian. The Rio treated us horribly for example went down to the buffet and we were seated so close to another couple you would swear we were together even though the buffet was empty we asked if we could be moved one table over and were told NO just NO so we got up and asked the cashier for our money back she didn't even ask what the problem was she just handed us the money the whole stay was like that like we owed them something. Wouldn't stay there if u paid me.

4 Stars Christine January 22, 2011

Stayed here early December. Was expecting it to be pretty bad but was quite impressed! Beds were super comfortable, huge rooms, housekeepers were super nice, quick and painless check in and out! Only pitfall was having to take a shuttle to the strip. If it weren't for that I would stay here all the time!

1 Star Larry December 31, 2010

Don't stay at the RIO if you don't have time to dispute fraudulent charges on your credit card months after your stay. "Rio accounting offices Las Vegas" has charged my card with invalid charges twice and It is a nightmare to get it corrected because you are "not allowed to speak to the accounting department directly" Visa recommended that I change my card number after they correct it this time.

3 Stars Mitch December 24, 2010

Ok stay, bed terrible, last time also. Seafood buffett closed.

4 Stars Mike December 11, 2010

Have not stayed here!! Just really like the look and vibe. I dont know why just a place i like going. People have been nice

3 Stars Rio Rita November 16, 2010

The rooms are updated but there are little things that are very tired. There is rust and soap scum in the corners of the bath room. I have stayed there 3 times in 2010

4 Stars BS from TB CDA October 29, 2010

Stayed there for 4 days in September/October 2010. Checked in late, so I was upgraded to the Masquerade Tower. Room was large, and well appointed. But the Casino sucked--no good slots, and very loud--show in the sky, etc. was just full of bass booming away. Seems to have gone downhill over the last 5 years. Was a place pretty much to avoid--slots were set on vacuum-cleaner mode--just sucked in the money. Definitely skewing to the young, clubbing, partying crowd (lingerie convention was on while I was there). But loud music does not mean good music. Really a disappointment, and has come down over the last few years.

4 Stars Tina September 04, 2010

Stayed at the Rio back in May. This was my first trip to Vegas with some friends. Price was reasonable. The room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. Beautiful view of Vegas. The carnival buffet was outstanding and the voodoo lounge was awesome! I'm already planning my second trip out to Vegas and will be staying at the Rio again.

5 Stars Tabitha May 31, 2010

Wow is all I can say! We went just as dinner became available (3:30pm I think) the amount of crab legs was astronomical! Very good selection, we didn't even get to the end cause it was too big! I had the crab legs, mashed potatoes (both delicious) and for dessert I had coconut gelato which was also good...if you have 1 buffet to eat at I recommend this one!

4 Stars Jay May 27, 2010

Nice hotel great buffet what more can I say

4 Stars Big Time May 20, 2010

If you have a total rewards card, this place is a great value... The hotel and rooms are nice and well kept, they have a nice pool area, and they have shuttles that run to the strip. They have plenty of places to eat inside, including an amazing buffet. The only place in Vegas I stayed more than once... And that covers a lot of ground

3 Stars Kit Kitchens May 06, 2010

Here's the thing about Rio. It's alright. It really is but i think it's trying to be too many things. For instance, it has a carnival theme, and show in the sky is cool, but no one really gives a flip about it. The casino is OK. iBar has a nice idea going but the Microsoft tables kept crashing on us. No, seriously. Rio has a ton of potential, and Voodoo has the best off-strip view of Vegas in my opinion, but it had no direction. It just seemed "ok" to me.

4 Stars Big daddy April 19, 2010

Stayed here for a week april 1st to April 7th. Had an amazing view of the pool area from our room. Room was nice and clean and house keeping seemed to stay on top of it very well. Not The greatest room in Vegas but by far not the worst either. Definitly worth the money no real complaints here.

4 Stars Kara C. April 06, 2010

Stayed March, 2010, Ipanema (sp?) tower.

Huge rooms, huge bed, with a little fridge in the closet, CRT TV. Nice little couch and chair with coffee table in TV watching area; good WiFi, but confusing to set up - make sure you choose the right service!

Slow elevators. Had to reset a fuse on the wall to get the lights to come on in the bathroom. Got help with that from calling the operator -- an employee came by the room about 30 mins later to check, after I had it fixed.

Would stay there again if I really wanted to spread out. Really enjoyed having a proper couch to sit on to watch TV!

2 Stars RoachClipCharly April 05, 2010

I got the room for free and still feel ripped off. It had musty ripped carpeting, bedding that smelled like butt funk, and a TV from 1988. The casino floor is equally as dated as the room and less than exciting.

4 Stars Tom K. March 29, 2010

Stayed here for the first time in November of '09. Very impressive rooms, large and clean. Beds were comfy. Casino was great, low-limit tables were there 24 hours a day. Food is wonderful. Bars could be a little more upbeat, but it is off the strip. Only 15 minute walk gets you to ceasars palace. Always plenty of cabs, and the free shuttle takes you to Paris or Harrahs.

5 Stars FrEaK a.k.a aLeX January 30, 2010

My stay here was fun. we had a sweet with a awesome Jacuzzi tub. The room comes with beer and snacks.. But they r very expensive. LoL!

4 Stars Shelby January 20, 2010

Meant to give four stars. The high roller accomodations are amazing as well!! But don't expect to stay there, unless you have $40,000. They're called the Palazzo Suites.

2 Stars Shelby January 20, 2010

Very nice hotel. Perfect for dinner and great for residents to spend a day or two.

5 Stars Patrick January 14, 2010

( Just the casino) Nice place to gamble and very loose slots. Our cocktail waiter, Daniel took good care of us as we good drunk well into the early morning, a+ services. And getting drunk in the casinos is not an easy task but it was easy with Daniel came back anytime we need one almost, even brought us a drinks a couples w/o asking. Win!!!!

0 Stars Brent N. September 02, 2008

Stayed at the Rio 8/30-9/1 over the Labor Day weekend.

Bottom-line, it was nice. Nothing to rave about, but all in all, my wife, 11-year old daughter, and I had a very nice time.

The room was comped by Harrahs Total Rewards so I really can't talk about value for the money (since I didn't pay anything). We had a premier suite in the (older) impaniero (sp?) tower. We checked in at about 3:00 PM and the hotel clerk took a few minutes to find an available non-smoking room with two beds. Our room was clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. There was a small coffe maker (one cup at a time) and a fridge for guest use in the room (nice). When we checked in the safe was locked so I called maintenance and in about 5 minutes (tops) the guy was there to open it for us.

Housekeeping did a good job and responded to my request for some extra shampoo with 5 bottles.

The casino was OK...table limits were 15-25 with a few $10 games (not blackjack....let it ride, etc...)

It was a bit smoky, but as long as they let people smoke in the casinos...that's the way it is.

The "masquarade" show above the casino goes nightly on the hour at 7PM and is a lot more adult themed than it used to be (basically a strip tease where they keep the naughty bits covered) so it wasn't the best thing to bring my daughter to.

We bowled at Lucky Strikes...it was fun, but not as nice as the Lucky Strikes we'd been to near Seattle. There was a 20% coupon in the room so we did save almost $18.

Shuttle service to the strip was easy and prompt. Although I was amazed at the rudeness of some folks who walked up and cut the line...or the cheapness of some who didn't tip the driver.

We ate all of our meals elsewhere (except pizza at Lucky Strikes which was good...and huge) so no restaurant comments.

All in all, we had a nice time and would stay again if we couldn't get a comped suite at the Venetian.

0 Stars Lisa August 11, 2008

Love the casino and buffet, the rooms are not at all what I expected. The bed was AWFUL, room kind of worn down and we could hear EVERYTHING from the people next to us. Won't be staying here again.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User November 15, 2005

room was very nice and clean,view not the best,but you aren't in the room that much.everyone was very helpful

0 Stars RateVegas.com User November 05, 2005

Stayed here forslot tournament at end of October. Got a renovated room. Was very nice, but bathroom was very small. Only a skinny little ledge over the wash basin for your personal stuff. There was a make-up area and wash basin just outside the bath which made it a little more convenient. Had fridge, large closet but no coffee pot. 32" TV. Furniture was all new. The room smelled of new carpet.
View was of air conditioning, the Gold Coast and the Palms-not exciting. May or may not stay here again. Depends on whether or not we can get it comped.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User September 27, 2005

Holed two friends here back in 2002.This place has really few things to be left impressed about.The rooms are not suites,period,they are just a little bigger than average rooms equipped with old and stinky couches.The casino is boring and it really tries hard to be entertaining....bikini dealers speakabout....pathetic.It offers a lot of good dining options tho,so just come here to dine.Do not stay at the Rio.It's really worth to spend those extra few bucks and stay on the Strip,even if your room does not have any view.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User June 19, 2005

Had 5 comped nights. Room was nice and big but the decor stunk. The room was done in beige. Looked like a high roller room from way back when. View was okay of the pool area and parts of the strip. Our room was in the Ipanema Tower and the Masquerade Tower blocked our view of much of the strip. Bathroom was small. Did have separate dressing area, but the enclosed bath was tight. No separate shower. However, the water pressure in the shower-tub was good. I asked for an upgrade since I am a Harrahs Diamond member and they told me that none were available because of the WSOP and several trade shows that were being held there. Will probably stay at Harrahs in future.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User February 13, 2005

Please be advised Rio has remodeled rooms, which are very nice, and their older rooms-which look it. Tip at checkin is big help to get a view, etc. Rooms are big!, with fridge, separate vanity from toilet area- a big plus if with wife
Stayed 4 times and never a bad experience!

0 Stars Golddigger January 31, 2005

Stayed at the RIO over New Years 2005 and it was quite an adventure. Up to New Years Eve, the trip was great. I liked the room and the Carnival Buffet. I found the Seafood Buffet overrated and too expensve. On New Years Eve, the Rio lost power in the casino and Masq. Tower. Although we were frightened, I found the staff very reassuring and they calmed me down. We choose to stay on until January 5th (many guests left on January 1st due to the power failure) and we really enjoyed our stay.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User December 21, 2004

I agree with the earlier review that the Rio is nothing more than a glorified motel. I was comped 2 nights. I got in late on the first night but I knew immediately I had to get out of this place. Furnishings were old and worn. The room is NOT a suite, it's just a large room with old furnishings. I thought the casino was tacky. I checked out first thing in the morning after my first night, skipping the second comp'ed night. I'd rather at another hotel than stay here for another night. If you want to save money, go to the Monte Carlo. It's a heckuva lot nicer, has a better location and is still a bargain. Possibly the best value on the strip. And if you can afford better than the Rio, don't even think of staying here--go to Paris, Mandalay, Bellagio or Venetian. Rio can't hold a candle to those places.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User November 09, 2004

I love the Rio. Hit $3300. jackpot. The music and carnival atmosphere keeps a smile on your face all the time. The rooms are big and have all the things you need. The Total Rewards players card is good at all Harrah's properties so it is easy to build up comps. They send a lot of great special offers in the mail too.

0 Stars RateVegas.com User October 09, 2004

Not happy with the way we were treated upon check-in by "Danielle". We were treated rather poorly because we requested a non-smoking room. She informed us that because we decided to go "the cheaper route" and book through Expedia that we had no choice on what room we were receiving. I wasn't asking for an upgrade, I just didn't want to sleep in a room reeking of cigarettes. We checked in at 10AM and she told us that we couldn't get our room key until 3 because they weren't able to assign rooms so early, if that was the case how did she know there were no non-smoking rooms available? At 3PM we went to another desk to get our key and the clerk informed us that when we 1st checked in we were already assigned a smoking room.....interesting.....they need to get their facts straight. My husband then requested a room change to a non-smoking room and we were granted the request in about 30 seconds from a "manager".

The rest of our stay was quite enjoyable, except for when we 1st checked in.

0 Stars coleslough August 19, 2004

nice size suites, but the furnsihings and carpets are worn.

rstuarants are only fair. buffet is not very good.

bikinis nigh clbb is great eye candy.

high roller pool(other side of rock waterfall) has several topless babes using it while we were there.

0 Stars coleslough August 19, 2004

nice size suites, but the furnishings and carpets are worn.

restuarants are only fair. buffet is not very good.

bikinis nigh club is great eye candy.

high roller pool(other side of rock waterfall) has several topless babes using it while we were there.

0 Stars kingfishx August 10, 2004

Stayed at Rio April '04 and had a great room in the Masquerade Tower. Fabulous views! Pool area was quite nice too, and had a sandy beach. Bathroom was funky but functional (love the 'shower window'). Great food and entertainment at the Rio, but the gaming has tightened considerably since their merge with Harrah's. So...a great place to stay, but gamble elsewhere (like the Gold Coast next door).

0 Stars samovila June 25, 2004

Rooms are nice in relationship to the value. They have remodeled some rooms but others are still "old." Try and get a newer room if you can.

0 Stars biegs March 12, 2004

Like the rooms. Play enough to get free nights, but spend most of our time elsewhere

0 Stars swanboy333 February 23, 2004

Very nice large room. Very nice people and helpful. Stayed in Masquerade Tower. Elevators were right in front of Club Rio which was awesome. Plenty of room and pool was nice and had some sand near pool which was cool. Has refrigerator in room and mini bar. Couch was really comfortable and so was bed. Lots of room for horseplay. Had a wrestling match in the room and didn't run into any furniture. I like this hotel alot and recommend it.

0 Stars jakedduck February 22, 2004

The Rio is nothing more than a gloified high rise low class motel. It is obvious the people rating this establishment are not familier with high or even good quality hotels. The Rio advertises their hotel as "all suite" which is misleading since neither of our rooms were suites. Just one big room. Room are noisey. We had a party on one side and screaming crying kids on the other. Called security, no response until I reminded them of the ffinancial consequences of having unattended children in a room. Then they arrived within 7 minutes.

0 Stars rio14 June 07, 2003

We stayed at Rio once overlooking the strip. The rooms were gorgeous and at night the outer wall is one big window and you can lay in bed and see all the lights on the strip. It is amazing.

0 Stars wolfman1953 June 06, 2003

We've stayed here several times. (Go elsewhere to gamble) This place is fun. Voodoo Lounge, parade in the sky, "pervert rooms" (there is a window in the wall between the sleeping area and bath tub/shower). The rooms are little larger than average. The bathroom is average, with a second sink outside of the bathroom with the fridge.

0 Stars lzcutter May 28, 2003

This review is for a Standard Suite in either the Ipanema or Masquerade Towers. The standard suite consists of a combined sitting area and bedroom. There is a large sofa sectional and coffee table. There is also a small desk table and chairs. A 27" television that can be swiveled to accomodate viewing from the bed or the sofa. The beds are either California King or two queens. There is a wall of floor to ceiling windows offering views of the South Strip, North Strip, Battle Mountain, the Spring Mountains or Mt. Charleston.
There is a refrigerator in addition to the honor bar but no coffee maker. Some rooms especially in the middle of the hallways have two vanities. There are two closets. The bathtub/shower are in the same room as the toilet and there is a door between that and the rest of the bathroom offering some privacy while you do your business.
The rooms in the Ipanema Tower are the oldest and original rooms but are wearing their age well. The rooms in the Masquerade Tower are more brightly decorated. The rooms in the Masquerade Tower offer longer walks from the elevator.

At both towers there is guard in the evenings and late night on weekends that you have to show a key to. At the bottom of both towers there is a small pastry and coffee bar. If staying in the Ipanema Tower use the parking garage on Valley View, as parking in the newer garage will mean a very long walk.
If staying in the Masquerade Tower, use the new parking garage that is accessible either from the front entrance or the back entrance off Polaris. Parking anywhere else will mean a looong walk.
A few things to keep in mind if staying in the Masquerade Tower, the Parade in the Sky runs every half hour almost every night and especially on week-ends. This is a very loud and, on week-ends, crowded spectacle. If you have been at a trade show or a noisy enviroment all day, walking into the Masquerade Village while this is going on can be very off-putting. If you like a more subdued entrance, I would recommend staying in the Ipanema Tower.
The rooms, which pioneered the all suite concept, are worth their value.

0 Stars lzcutter May 28, 2003

This review is about the large Masquerade Suites in the Masquerade Tower. These suites are at the end of the end of the hallway and have double door entry along with a doorbell. The suites are huge. When you walk in, there is a foyer with a closet on one wall and guest bathroom on the other side.
Directly inside the room is the sitting area with a 27" television and entertainment center with CD player,speakers and VHS deck. There is a two line phone with a data port. If you do not have a laptop, there is wireless internet access that costs roughly $9.00 for 24 hours. There is a comfortable sofa and two overstuffed chairs. The room is highlighted by a wall of ceiling to floor windows with a views of the Strip.
Off the sitting area is a dining room with a large table that seats four comfortable, a wet bar, cadenza and refrigerator. There is also a coffee maker. Again, ceiling to floor windows with a view of the Strip.
Off the other side of the sitting area in a room all its own is the bedroom with a California King bed, 27" television, entertainment center with CD changer, speakers and VHS machine.
Again, ceiling to floor windows with a view. Another two line phone with data port.
Directly from the bedroom is a huge long bathroom. There are two separate sinks with vanities, a make-up area with chair, a separate closet area with chest of drawers as well.
The toilet is in its own room with a phone.
A large soaking tub with jets and a view out the ceiling to floor window. There is a separate shower as well. The towels are big and fluffy and don't smell of starch.
The sitting and dining area of the suite is very well proportioned, especially for entertaining moderate groups. Room Service is quick and efficient and won't break the bank. There are separate air conditioning controls in the sitting/dining area and another control in the bedroom.
The suites are tastfully done in tropics decor. There is turn down service at night and chocolates left on your bed. Robes are available upon request.

0 Stars lzcutter May 28, 2003

This review is for the Super Suites available in the Ipanema Tower. The Super Suites are located on the 21st floor and are accessible only by a separate key in the elevator.
The 21st floor used to have a conceriege on it. While the conceriege is gone, there is room tastefully decorated for reading and it is here that the ice machine is located. I suspect they used to have wine and cheese laid out for those staying in the Super Suites but that practise, like the conceriege, is gone. Still a nice room for the ice machine.
The Super Suites have a double door entry. The foyer offers a large closet on one side and a guest bathroom on the other. The soaps and lotion are a higher grade than offered in the standard suite. The living room offers a sofa and two chairs with matching coffee table. There is a two line phone with data port. If you need wireless internet access the fee is roughly $9.00 every 24 hours. There is a wall of floor to ceiling window offering views of the mountains, the north Strip or the South Strip. From some of the rooms you get a partial view of the Bellagio Fountain show. There is also a large dining table that sets eight and a wet bar and cadenza. There is also a large glass bookcase that remains lighted 24/7 filled with tasteful decorations. This room has its own air conditioning control.

The bedroom is in a separate room and offers a 27" television, divan, a day bed for sitting and gazing out the large picture windows, a California King bed, two line phone with data port and separate air conditioning controls. Be aware that the Super Suites with a Southern Strip view get the most sun during the day. This means in the summertime it will take them longer to cool down if you leave the curtains open. As with all rooms in the Rio, there are no premimum movie channels though there is Movies on Demand. Cable is only the very basic offering A&E, the Discovery channel, all sports channels, financial channels, news channels, TBS and TNT in addition the local stations.
There is a closet with a chest of drawers area that leads into the bathroom.
There is a makeup vanity area with chair, a spacious two sink vanity, soaking tub with jets, a separate shower and a toilet with a room of its own and its own phone.
Robes are available upon request and there is turn down service as well.
The rooms are well decorated and run the gamut from light and tropical to provincial to dark wood.
If staying in a Super Suite ask for one near the elevators as some of them are so far from the elevator you will feel like you have walked to Outer Mongolia by time you get to your room.
Each Super Suite seems to have a one bedroom Suite next to it with an adjoining door.
The keyed access at the elevator means that if people want to come up to your room you have to go down to the first floor and bring them up. However, people are intriqued in the elevator when you put the key in and press the 21st floor button.
Room Service is efficient and the maid service is very accomodating and friendly.

0 Stars lzcutter May 28, 2003

This review is for the Caricocas Suites available in the Ipanema Tower. These suites are at the end of the hallway. I believe they are approximately 1100 square feet.
There is a double door entrance and doorbell. There is a wall of floor to ceiling windows offering a view of the Strip.
Upon entering, there is a closet on one side and a guest bathroom on the other. The soap and lotion are of a higher grade than you get in the standard suite.
As you walk into the room, there is a wet-bar with sink and refrigerator. The living room has a sofa and two chairs, coffee table, 27" television, a desk table and chair. There is a two line phone with a data port. If you do not have a laptap there is wireless internet access that costs roughly $9.00 every 24 hours. The television offers only the most basic of cable- A&E,the Discovery Channel, TBS, TNT, a number of sports channels, financial channels and news channels in addition to the local channels. No Premimum movie channels though you can order Movies on Demand for a nominally fee.
Off of the living room is a set of french doors. Through these doors is a large bedroom with a California king bed, a divan with reading light, a 27" television, but best of all, a large soaking tub with jets in front of the wall of ceiling to floor windows. The placement of the television armoire could be better if trying to view the tv from the tub. However, the view of the Strip from the tub is great. Off the bedroom is closet area that leads into the bathroom. Their is a two line phone as well.
The bathroom has a separate make up area with chair, two sink vanity, separate shower and the toilet is in a room of its own with a phone.
Room Service is efficient and quick. Robes are available upon request.
The decor in the living room is a bit odd in that the blackout curtains are wildly tropical and do not match the sofa and chairs. The wrap around windows offer stunning views of the Strip, downtown and Battle Mountain.
A good room for entertaining a small group.
The bedroom is the keypoint of this suite and the soaking tub with a view is dynamite.

0 Stars dsavilla April 28, 2003

Stayed for friends wedding. Was exceptional experience. Excellent room and entertainment.

0 Stars Hunter February 28, 2003

Nice large room with a big TV and a comfy bed. Great room value at the Rio.

0 Stars RateVegas User November 05, 2002

rooms where very nice and clean ,staff was friendly.Great resteraunts,and free show.

0 Stars RateVegas User November 19, 2001

I recently returned from my first stay at the Rio, and I was very impressed! It is a big, beautiful, fun hotel and casino. Rooms are very large and well-equipped. If Vegas was not such an exciting place, I would have been content to lounge around in the room all day! The casino is very festive and upbeat. There are several good bars and restaurants. The Village Seafood Buffet is absolutely not to be missed! The staff was friendly, although housekeeping could have been better. While it's true that the Rio is off-Strip, it is a wonderful place to stay, and you really don't even have to leave it! We had a rental car, but we hardly spent any time on the Strip at all because we enjoyed the Rio so much. I would recommend it to people who have already been to Vegas a few times and have seen the major Strip attractions.

0 Stars RateVegas User September 22, 2001

We were there during the World Trade Center disaster and were treated very nicely and given lower rates as we had to spent three more night than planned (9/12/01-9/18/01) due the cancealed flights home. The Masquerade Tower is better than the Ipanema Tower. We did have a very nice room and found that their room service offered as good or better food than did many of their resturants. We will return again.

0 Stars RateVegas User August 10, 2001

Upgraded upon arrival to a deluxe suite which was wonderful. 3
seperate rooms and a huge bathroom. We had a wonderful view of
the pool and strip. Would retu

0 Stars RateVegas User July 29, 2001

The rooms here are great and a good value. I have been staying here for years and haven't really seen any negative changes since Harrah's took over. The service is top notch, I have always been treated really well here which is why I keep going back. I especially like the coffee pot and the refrigerator and all the space in the room.

0 Stars RateVegas User July 04, 2001

What a boring place, big, yet boring rooms. Plus, this play is way off the strip and getting to the shuttle bus that takes guests to the strip is a LONG walk. I won't be back there. I don't see what all the fuss is about with this hotel (I will admit though that the buffet was a 10!). So, don't stay there, just haul it to the buffet, chow-down, and bust a move back to one of the strip hotels....

0 Stars RateVegas User March 13, 2001

we have been going to the Rio for 5 years, since last November 2000. the place has gone down hill !!! Harrah's bought it out and changed everything. Used to be the best now it's one of the worst. Big business takes over and hurts the average working guy and even the higher middle class people, I would advise going to another hotel unless they go back to being the old RIO soon !!

0 Stars RateVegas User January 23, 2001

Stayed in the old Ipanema tower .Big room ,but do not expect something fancy .They should stop calling them suite .A pyramid room at the Luxor is quite more nice .

0 Stars RateVegas User September 06, 2000

Probably the best value in Las Vegas. Rooms are equal to, or surpass many of the best at a fraction of the cost. One of the best pool areas . Casino is attractive if tight. Great food options. A real Vegas treasure..

0 Stars RateVegas User May 28, 2000

I give the rooms a seven because they are definitely large and have great views.They are not really suites though,but rather big rooms with a couch,chair and dressing area.The bathroom was diappointing,especially when I compared it to my next stay at Mandalay Bay.A good choice if you get a decent price($65-$85) and don't mind being a little off the strip.